Home » All Articles | Meeting Minutes

InAEA 2010 June Meeting Minutes

 

PARTICIPANTS:

Leesa Kamala, Lilly Bieler, and Kristy Handrick

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

  1. If you (or any of your students are seeking a funding source for research that combines the advance of technology and the preservation of the natural/human environment though intercultural communication and/or education, check out the Charles A. and Anne Morrow Lindbergh Foundation, Grant Opportunities website. http://www.lindberghfoundation.org/docs/index.php/our-grants From Dr. Marjorie Manifold
  2. USSEA/InSEA Regional Conference June 11-June 13 2010: Youth and Community Development: How the Arts Serve Economically Impoverished Communities
    At State University of New York at New Paltz http://www.inaea.org/post/2010/03/09/USSEAInSEA-Regional-Conference-June-11-June-13-2010.aspx
  3. The 2011 NAEA National Convention will be held March 17-20 in Seattle, Washington at the Washington State Convention & Trade Center and the Sheraton Seattle Hotel CALL FOR PRESENTATIONS till June 30.
  4. Second Life Community Convention (SLCC) will be held in Boston, MA, from Aug 13 to 15.   http://www.slconvention.org/ The proposal submission is still open! http://www.slconvention.org/convention-details/submit-a-proposal/

DISCUSSION

We were discussing about Leesa’s question: can art education use Second Life as an educational environment without teaching Second Life skills. Lilly suggested if the instructor had taught regular online course, it might be easier to request a online course by using the virtual world. Kristy stated one of the online course she took was held in Second Life, and the instructor did not teach any Second Life skill before or during the class time.

 

FIELD TRIP:

Project Z art space  http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Lennox%20Hill/38/168/3812

Project Z art space. please join project Z group to keep informed of exhibits & installations.

currently showing Lunamaruna Galaxies, The Conflagration Three Triptychs, mushROOM, Digital Woodcuts and more...

The critical question for you to keep in mind is: How can SL foster users’ imagination?

 

Next meeting time: July 7, 8 AM SL time= 8AM PST, 9AM MST, 10 AM CST, 11 AM EST. You are very welcome to join us!

Comments are closed